An Honest Review of Blinkist

Ethan Koch
7 min readJan 7, 2023

Like many of you, I am a sucker for a good book title.

Mastering the Art of Professional Development: Essential Strategies for Success

The Software Engineer’s Playbook: Proven Strategies for Advancing Your Career

The Trifecta of Success: Achieving Happiness, Health, and Intelligence for a Better Life

(these are ChatGPT-generated because I’m not gifted in the art of naming things)

Photo by Robert Katzki on Unsplash

The optimist in me says “well maybe that book contains a key piece of information that could better my life.” The pessimist in me replies “you’ve read seven books with almost that exact title and after wasting hours reading the book realized that it contained no useful information.” A waste of time and of money.

After cycling between optimism and pessimism for years, I stumbled across Blinkist. In other words, their advertising worked on me. And I’m so glad it did!

I am not paid by Blinkist and I am in no way affiliated with Blinkist. I am simply a happy user of the app who would like others to enjoy its benefits as well.

TL;DR

I will be a long-term user and promoter of Blinkist. Previously, I would spend hundreds of dollars and many hours on books I’m not interested in or I don’t find particularly useful.

--

--